Javascript Menu by Deluxe-Menu.com
   
Liturgical Year at a Glance

Here are the major Feasts for 2016

Dates of Major Feasts and Seasons of 2016

Feast of the Theophany Wednesday, January  6
Eve of Theophany January 5 (Strict Fast); Blessing of Waters; January 6 'Fast Free', Wed/Fri fast returns on Friday

Feast of the Presentation in the Temple Tuesday, February 2

Triodion Begins with the Sunday of the Publican & Pharisee February 21
Fast free week begins; Cheesefare is the 28th and Meatfare is March 6

Lent Begins Monday, March 7
Memorial Saturdays are March 5, April 2 & 9.

Feast of the Annunciation Friday, March 25
Fish, wine and oil allowed; *Western Easter is March 27

Palm Sunday April 24
Holy Week begins at sunset

Pascha the Feast of Feasts Sunday, May 1
Fast free week begins

St. Tikon's Memorial Day Pilgrimage Weekend May 27-30
All are welcome; seminary graduation on Saturday

 Feast of the Ascension Thursday, June 9
Memorial Saturay on June 18

Feast of Pentecost Sunday, June 19
Fast free week follows

Feast of Sts Peter and Paul Wednesday, June 29
Apostles Fast is June 27-28;  Wednesday is also a fast day

St. Anna Celebration Sunday, July 24
Special services in honor of the miraculous icon resident at St. Tikhon's

Feast of the Transfiguration Saturday, August 6
Dormtion Fast is August 1-15;  fish, wine & oil allowed on the 6th.

St. Tikon's Patronal Feast Saturday, August 13
Feastday of St. Tikhon of Zadonsk

Feast of the Dormition Monday, August 15
Beheading of St. John the Baptist is Monday, August 29, a strict fast day

Feast of the Nativity of the Theotokos Thursday, September 8

Feast of the Exaltation of the Cross Wednesday,  September 14

St. Tikon's Founder's Day Sunday, October 9
All are welcome

Feast of St. Demetrius Wednesday, October 26
Memorial Saturday of Demetrius October 22

Feast of the Entry of the Theotokos Monday, November 21
Nativity Fast began on November 15

Feast of Nativity Sunday, December 25
Feast of St. Nicholas was Tuesday, December 6

 

Share This:



< PreviousNext >
You might also like:
Wednesday, November 22nd
6:00 Midnight Office, Hours, and Divine Liturgy
4:30 Vespers and Matins
Thursday, November 23rd
Thanksgiving
7:40 Hours, and Divine Liturgy
4:30 Vespers and Matins
7:00 Akathist Glory to God for All Things
Friday, November 24th
6:00 Midnight Office, Hours, and Divine Liturgy
4:00 Vespers and Matins
Monthly Calendar >
 
Our Home as a School of Holiness - 11/13/17

Words of wisdom from St John Chrysostom on his Feastday


November News & Events - 11/01/17

"Give thanks to the Lord for He is good and His Mercy endures forever"


What is the 'Heart'? - 10/09/17

Archimandrite Zacharias answer this important question.




 

 
 
Looking for something specific? Search the site here: